Loeb Teaching Fellowship

The Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Teaching Fellows program provides fellows the opportunity to implement ideas that augment the education of medical students and residents. Initiated in 2004 with a gift from Carol and Jerome Loeb and supported by The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital, the program was established to advance education at Washington University School of Medicine by honoring faculty committed to excellence and education.

See current and former Loeb Teaching Fellows »

Process and selection criteria

Loeb teaching fellows will be selected based on the following criteria:

  • A demonstration of innovative teaching methodologies or programmatic development is desirable. Projects with a scope that reaches a large number of trainees will be viewed more favorably than those with a narrow focus.
  • Demonstration of understanding of how this project fits into current work in this or similar areas at Washington University, including a reference list to reflect the current status of this work at Washington University and nationally.
  • Loeb Teaching Fellows shall invest time both in direct teaching of medical students and/or residents and in program/curriculum development. Direct teaching should be a substantial portion of designated Loeb Fellowship time.
  • Particular consideration will be given to those candidates who include a plan for project sustainability following completion of their Loeb Fellowship term.
  • Faculty members who already have a substantial teaching commitment (clerkship directors, program directors, etc.) shall describe plans to improve or expand their current educational activities. If a continuation of current responsibilities, how does the Loeb fellowship support enable work that would not otherwise be feasible to complete?
  • Who will serve as mentor(s) to the Loeb fellow for the duration of the project?
  • Description of current teaching activities including involvement in School of Medicine and Graduate Medical Education committees and projects, as well as involvement in committees, programs and workshops of Academy of Educators, as applicable.

The Loeb Teaching Fellows Selection Committee reviews all proposals and selects up to two fellows, who are announced school-wide.

Application submission dates: February 1, 2022 – April 24, 2022 @ midnight

Eligibility: Barnes-Jewish Hospital volunteer clinical faculty; Washington University School of Medicine clinical and/or investigator track faculty

Fellowship term: July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2024

Questions: Contact academyofeducators@wustl.edu

Submit an application »

Appointed by the School of Medicine dean in consultation with the Barnes-Jewish Hospital chief medical officer, the selection committee includes representatives from the hospital’s and the medical school’s full-time and voluntary clinical faculty, resident and clerkship teachers, the senior associate dean for education, and the associate dean for medical student education.

The 2022 Loeb Teaching Fellows Selection Committee is:

  • Eva Aagaard, MD (co-chair)
  • Abby Spencer, MD (co-chair)
  • Kari Allen, PhD
  • Michael Brunt, MD
  • Erika Crouch, MD, PhD
  • Thomas De Fer, MD
  • Krikor Dikranian, MD, PhD
  • Katherine Henderson, MD
  • Randall Jotte, MD
  • Brendan O’Connor, MD
  • Andrew White, MD