Goldstein Awards

Recognizing outstanding teaching, the Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Awards in Medical Student Education are among the highest honors School of Medicine teachers can achieve. The awards were established in 2000 by a gift from Samuel R. Goldstein, a longtime friend of the medical school, to honor excellence in teaching.

Goldstein’s gift allowed for the creation of three annual awards to acknowledge faculty leadership in medical student education, as well as the tradition and responsibility our teaching faculty demonstrate in training the best and brightest medical students to become physicians.

See past award recipients »

Nominations and selection

All medical school faculty members involved in teaching medical or MSTP students, including instructors in Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences courses designed for MSTP students, are eligible for nomination. Nominations may be submitted by other faculty members, medical students and MSTP students.

Nomination deadline:  TBD
Nominate a faculty member »

Nominations are reviewed by the Goldstein Selection Committee, made up of Washington University School of Medicine teaching faculty and a medical student representative from each class. The committee selects three awardees based on excellence in and commitment to teaching and educational innovations, as confirmed by one or more of the following criteria:

  • Incorporation of innovative approaches to teaching
  • Contributions to curriculum development
  • Commitment to enhancing educational skills (the nominee’s own skills, or enhancing the skills of other teachers and/or learners)
  • Participation in regional or national educational activities
  • Teaching evaluations by students, course masters and other faculty members

Recommendations are forwarded to David H. Perlmutter, MD, executive vice chancellor for medical affairs and dean of the School of Medicine, for final approval.

2018 Goldstein Selection Committee

  • Dr. Eva Aagaard (ex-officio)
  • Dr. Dana Abendschein
  • Dr. Paul Bridgman
  • Dr. Michael Brunt
  • Dr. Erika Crouch (chair)
  • Dr. Thomas De Fer
  • Dr. Nigar Kirmani
  • Dr. Mary Klingensmith (ex-officio)
  • Dr. Kenneth Ludmerer
  • Dr. Jay Piccirillo
  • Dr. Megan Wren